About the Ames Area Metropolitan Planning Organization

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Regional Transportation Planning

Transportation Policy Committee

Voting membership on the Ames Area MPO Transportation Policy Committee is open to any county or city government located, wholly or partially, in the designated Metropolitan Planning Area. Currently the Ames Area MPO membership includes: City of Ames, City of Gilbert, Boone County, CyRide, and Story County. The Iowa Department of Transportation, Federal Highway Administration, Federal Transit Administration, and Iowa State University serve as advisory, non-voting representatives.

Transportation Technical Committee

The Transportation Technical Committee consists of technical personnel form various agencies involved in transportation issues within the planning area. The Transportation Technical Committee formulates the procedural details of the Transportation Planning Work Program. The committee reviews and monitors the output of various MPO activities identified in the work program and makes recommendations to the policy committee. The committee is also responsible for assisting in developing the short and long-range transportation plans. 

Public Participation Plan

The Public Participation Plan is developed by the MPO and provides a process for providing interested parties with opportunities to be involved in the metropolitan planning process.

MPO Boundary map

Federal Functional Classification for Ames Area MPO Roadways (Map)


Staff Contact

The MPO staff work to carry out the activities prescribed in the Transportation Planning Work Program and carry out the regional transportation planning process.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer